The geographic area of the East District includes all of Southern Ontario stretching in a northward band through Timmins and all provinces and territories eastward. Today, East District congregations and missions proclaim the Word of God in Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick,  Nova Scotia, and PEI.


The Lutheran Church movement within Christendom is traditionally dated from October 31, 1517. On that day, Martin Luther posted his ’95 Theses’ in Wittenburg, Germany, questioning some of the practices in the church of his day. The term “Lutheran” was applied to followers of Luther.


The Canada District of Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod (LCMS) came into being in Elmira, Ontario in 1879. In 1922, the Canada District changed its name to the Ontario District of LCMS. Then on January 1, 1989, it became a district of the newly autonomous Lutheran Church–Canada and in 1990 changed its name to Lutheran Church–Canada, East District to reflect its outreach into Quebec and the maritimes.

Lutheran Church–Canada (LCC) is divided into three Districts:

Alberta-British Columbia District  (ABC),
Central District
East District

Purpose of the East District

  1. assist congregations and professional church workers to be in ministry;
  2. together with the congregations, develop new ministries;
  3. support professional church workers and congregations to do their work.

Contacts:   District Office Personnel


Educational Facilities

Lutheran Church–Canada operates two seminaries, Concordia Lutheran Theological Seminary in St. Catharines, Ontario and Concordia Lutheran Seminary in Edmonton, Alberta. The East District is home to Lutheran schools and early childhood facilities.